Nine of the world’s top 30 female tennis players are included in the entry list announced today for the LTA’s Rothesay Classic Birmingham, taking place at the Edgbaston Priory Club, 17-25 June.

Two former Grand Slam champions (WTA No.13) Barbora Krejcikova (Roland Garros 2021) and (WTA No.17) Jelena Ostapenko (Roland Garros 2017) will be joined at the WTA 250 event by 2017 US Open finalist Madison Keys (WTA No.20), a past champion at Birmingham in 2016.

2022 champion Beatriz Haddad Maia (WTA No.14) of Brazil will also return alongside 2022 finalist, China’s Shuai Zhang.

Four wild card places remain in the draw which will be announced in due course. Qualifying for the event will take place 17-18 June with main draw action starting on Monday 19th.

Tournament Director Patrick Hughesman said:

“All but one of the main draw direct acceptances for this year’s tournament are ranked in the WTA Top 50 illustrating the strength and depth of the field the event has attracted this year. This is an amazing opportunity for the people of Birmingham and beyond to experience world-class tennis and we look forward to welcoming spectators and players to the Rothesay Classic next month.”

Members of Edgbaston Priory Club are entitled to 15% off tickets at this year’s tournament.  Please check your emails and for details.

Full entry list available here

Tickets available here

Picture: Beatriz Haddad Maia of Brazil celebrates with the Maud Watson Trophy after winning against Shuai Zhang of China in the Singles Final match on Day Nine of the Rothesay Classic Birmingham at Edgbaston Priory Club on June 19, 2022. (Photo by Stephen Pond/Getty Images for LTA)